Guides

Best NAATI translation services in Australia, compared (2026)

Last checked 4 November 2026 against the official sources listed below · Updated 4 November 2026

There is no single best NAATI translation service: it depends on what you need. For the lowest published starting price, Translayte advertises translations from $31.75 per page. For a licence translation within the hour, Perth Translation advertises under 1 hour for most licences, and Sealword (us) delivers in 1 hour for $139 per page during covered hours, with the surcharge refunded if late. If you are eligible, the Home Affairs Free Translating Service is free but takes up to 30 days. For a NSW licence transfer, only Multicultural NSW, the Free Translating Service and, for Korean and Taiwanese licences, the Korean Consulate-General and TECO Sydney are accepted. All figures were read on each service's public website on 4 November 2026.

Disclosure: we are one of the services compared. We list what each service publishes on its own website, without scores or stars, and say where another option is the better choice.

The comparison

Service Published price Standard turnaround (as published) Fastest option (as published) Languages (as published) Accepted for a NSW licence transfer
Sealword (us) $69 per page 24 hours 1 hour, $139 per page, orders paid 8am–8pm Mon–Sat (Sydney time); surcharge refunded if late Any language No
Translayte From $31.75 per page 12 to 48 hours Expedited option Not stated on the licence page No
Ethnolink About $79 per page for a licence, as a general guide Not stated; quote within 60 minutes Depends on urgency 150+ No
OPAL Translation From $79 for a licence Not stated on the licence page Not stated 150 No
Licence Translation From $79 Under 24 hours for some languages Not stated 71 No
Perth Translation Not stated on the home page 1 to 2 days on average Under 1 hour for most licences 50+ No
Free Translating Service (Home Affairs, TIS National) Free, for eligible visa holders Up to 30 days No rush option Most languages Yes
Multicultural NSW Paid, fees on its website See its website See its website See its website Yes

Figures read on 4 November 2026 on each public website. "Not stated" means we did not find the figure on the page we read, not that the service does not offer it.

The best choice, depending on your situation

You need it within the hour

Two services publish a delivery within the hour for licences: Perth Translation ("under 1 hour for most licences") and us (1 hour for $139 per page, for orders paid 8am to 8pm Monday to Saturday, Sydney time, with a clear scan; the $70 surcharge is refunded automatically if we are late). Compare the total price and the hours covered before you order.

You want the lowest price

Translayte publishes the lowest starting price of the private services we compared: from $31.75 per page. Starting prices depend on the language and the delivery time, so compare the total for your document.

You are eligible for the Free Translating Service

If you hold a listed permanent or provisional visa granted in the past 2 years and you are in Australia, the Free Translating Service is free for up to 10 personal documents. It does not cover visa or citizenship documents, it can take up to 30 days and most translations are short extract summaries. If you are eligible and not in a hurry, use it. See who is eligible.

You are transferring a licence in NSW

None of the private services, including ours, is accepted for a NSW licence transfer. Use Multicultural NSW or the Free Translating Service, or the Korean Consulate-General or TECO Sydney for a Korean or Taiwanese licence. See what NSW accepts.

You need a rare language

Ethnolink and OPAL Translation publish the largest number of languages (150 or more). We also accept any language into English.

How to compare NAATI translation services yourself

  1. The credential: the translation must show the translator's name and NAATI practitioner number. In Western Australia, the translator must hold NAATI certification; translations by accredited translators dated after 1 January 2018 are refused.
  2. The total price, not the starting price: per page or per document, express surcharge, postage of a hard copy.
  3. The delivery time and the hours it applies to: "1 hour" may only apply to some languages, documents or hours of the day.
  4. What happens if it is late: a refund of the surcharge, or nothing.
  5. Where you will use it: a NAATI translation is accepted for visas (applying from Australia) and for licence transfers in VIC, QLD, WA, SA, TAS and the ACT, but not for a NSW licence transfer.

FAQ

Which NAATI translation service is the cheapest?

Among the services compared, Translayte publishes the lowest starting price, from $31.75 per page, which varies with the language, length and delivery time. If you are eligible, the Free Translating Service is free.

Which service is the fastest for a driver licence?

Perth Translation advertises under 1 hour for most licences. Sealword delivers in 1 hour for orders paid 8am to 8pm, Monday to Saturday (Sydney time), and refunds the express surcharge if it is late.

Can any private NAATI translator do my NSW licence transfer?

No. For a NSW licence transfer, NSW only accepts the Free Translating Service and Multicultural NSW, plus the Korean Consulate-General and TECO Sydney for Korean and Taiwanese licences. Translations obtained any other way are not accepted.

Is a cheaper NAATI translation less valid?

No. What matters to the authority is that the translator holds the right NAATI credential and that the translation shows their details. Check the credential, the delivery time and what is included in the price.

Are these prices final?

No. They are the prices each service published on 4 November 2026, usually starting prices. Your price depends on the language, the number of pages and the speed. Always check the total before you pay.

Sources

Rules change. Check with the authority you are applying to before you submit. We re-read these pages regularly and log changes below.

Change log

  • 4 November 2026: First version. Prices, turnaround times and language counts read on each service's public website on 4 November 2026.